CalculatorsRental Income TaxMTD CheckerCapital GainsStamp DutyGuidesAboutContact

HMO Licence in Plymouth: Fee, Who Needs One and How to Apply

A new mandatory HMO licence in Plymouth costs £1,097, renewal £1,040, on the council’s own fee page read 5 September 2026.

England£1,097 new licenceRead 5 September 2026

The fee, from Plymouth’s own page

Mandatory HMO licence fee, Plymouth
New application£1,097
Renewal£1,040
Fee structureflat
Licence lengthnot stated (gov.uk maximum is 5)
Cost per year of licence—
Against the 34 councils with a verified fee24 of 34 (1 = dearest); median £1,364

'Cost Fee or charge Current fee: Initial Application (Full Fee) £1,097; Initial Application (discounted fee for holding accreditation) £982; Renewal Application (Full Fee) £1,040; Renewal Application (discounted fee for holding accreditation) £924.'

Plymouth’s new-licence fee sits below the median of the 34 councils whose fee we could read from their own pages (£1,364). The cheapest verified is Islington at £288 and the dearest Lambeth at £2,530; fee structures differ — some charge per room or in occupancy bands, so a large HMO can cost far more than the headline figure above.

Who needs a licence in Plymouth

The national rule is the same everywhere in England and Wales — gov.uk: “You must have a licence if you’re renting out a large HMO in England or Wales. Your property is defined as a large HMO if all of the following apply: it is rented to 5 or more people who form more than 1 household; some or all tenants share toilet, bathroom or kitchen facilities; at least 1 tenant pays rent (or their employer pays it for them).” … “A licence is valid for a maximum of 5 years. You must renew your licence before it runs out. You need a separate licence for each HMO you run.” Whether a smaller shared house needs a licence depends on whether the council runs an additional or selective scheme:

Additional licensing (smaller HMOs): not confirmed either way on the pages we read (a 2018 SWLA newsletter references Plymouth 'extending mandatory HMO licensing' historically but no current additional-scheme fee was verified.) — check the council’s licensing pages before letting to fewer than five.

Selective licensing (all private lets in an area): not confirmed either way on the pages we read — check the council’s licensing pages before letting to fewer than five.

Letting a licensable HMO without a licence is an offence; the penalties, rent repayment orders and the fee’s tax treatment are on the HMO licence in England guide.

The Plymouth numbers around an HMO

  • How many HMOs: the council estimated 5,000 HMOs in Plymouth, of which 1,400 were mandatory-licensable and 1,295 licences had been issued (LAHS 2024-25, MHCLG) — every council’s figures.
  • Rents: the average 4+-bedroom rent in Plymouth is £1,488 a month (ONS, July 2026) against £1,001 across all sizes — rents, prices and yield in Plymouth.
  • EPC: 38% of EPCs lodged here in the last year were below band C, the level a rented home needs by 1 October 2030 (EPC ratings in Plymouth).
  • Council tax: Band D is £2,442 for 2026/27; in an HMO let room by room the landlord is usually the liable person.

How to apply

Applications go to the council, not to a national body. Have the floor plans, gas and electrical certificates, fire-safety details and the manager’s details ready; most councils take a non-refundable first payment on submission and the balance on grant (the quote above shows where Plymouth splits its fee, if it does).

Apply or check on Plymouth’s site

All councils compared · Student HMOs and Ground 4A · Renters’ Rights Act rules

Landlord tax changes, as they happen

A short email when a rate, threshold or deadline that affects landlords changes — sourced, dated, no marketing.

FAQs

Asked about HMO licences in Plymouth

£1,097 for a new application and £1,040 to renew, according to the council's own fee page read 5 September 2026.

gov.uk sets a maximum of 5 years; the council page we read did not state the length.

Mandatory licensing starts at five people from two or more households; whether a smaller HMO needs a licence depends on an additional scheme we could not confirm — check with the council.

On the council's own site: https://www.plymouth.gov.uk/apply-house-multiple-occupation-hmo-licence

Sources

Read 5 September 2026 on the council’s own site. National rule: House in multiple occupation licence (GOV.UK). Fees change at each council’s budget; the council page is authoritative on the day you apply.