HMO Licence in Leicester: Fee, Who Needs One and How to Apply
A new mandatory HMO licence in Leicester costs £900, on the council’s own fee page read 5 September 2026.
The fee, from Leicester’s own page
| New application | £900 |
| Renewal | not stated separately |
| Fee structure | flat |
| Licence length | not stated (gov.uk maximum is 5) |
| Cost per year of licence | — |
| Against the 34 councils with a verified fee | 29 of 34 (1 = dearest); median £1,364 |
'How to apply The licence costs £900.' No breakdown into stages/parts shown on this summary page; no fee year label.
Page is a brief summary;
Leicester’s new-licence fee sits below the median of the 34 councils whose fee we could read from their own pages (£1,364). The cheapest verified is Islington at £288 and the dearest Lambeth at £2,530; fee structures differ — some charge per room or in occupancy bands, so a large HMO can cost far more than the headline figure above.
Who needs a licence in Leicester
The national rule is the same everywhere in England and Wales — gov.uk: “You must have a licence if you’re renting out a large HMO in England or Wales. Your property is defined as a large HMO if all of the following apply: it is rented to 5 or more people who form more than 1 household; some or all tenants share toilet, bathroom or kitchen facilities; at least 1 tenant pays rent (or their employer pays it for them).” … “A licence is valid for a maximum of 5 years. You must renew your licence before it runs out. You need a separate licence for each HMO you run.” Whether a smaller shared house needs a licence depends on whether the council runs an additional or selective scheme:
Additional licensing (smaller HMOs): not confirmed either way on the pages we read — check the council’s licensing pages before letting to fewer than five.
Selective licensing (all private lets in an area): yes. Selective licensing designated areas (see leicester.gov.uk/housing/landlords/property-licensing/selective-licensing). Fee £1,290. Secondary source cites £1,290 for selective licensing but this specific figure was not directly re-verified against the leicester.gov.uk selective-licensing page text in this pass -- treat as unconfirmed. Inside a selective area every private tenancy needs a licence, HMO or not.
Letting a licensable HMO without a licence is an offence; the penalties, rent repayment orders and the fee’s tax treatment are on the HMO licence in England guide.
The Leicester numbers around an HMO
- How many HMOs: the council estimated 9,649 HMOs in Leicester, of which 2,249 were mandatory-licensable and 1,100 licences had been issued (LAHS 2024-25, MHCLG) — every council’s figures.
- Rents: the average 4+-bedroom rent in Leicester is £1,456 a month (ONS, July 2026) against £1,024 across all sizes — rents, prices and yield in Leicester.
- EPC: 43% of EPCs lodged here in the last year were below band C, the level a rented home needs by 1 October 2030 (EPC ratings in Leicester).
- Council tax: Band D is £2,529 for 2026/27; in an HMO let room by room the landlord is usually the liable person.
How to apply
Applications go to the council, not to a national body. Have the floor plans, gas and electrical certificates, fire-safety details and the manager’s details ready; most councils take a non-refundable first payment on submission and the balance on grant (the quote above shows where Leicester splits its fee, if it does).
Apply or check on Leicester’s site
All councils compared · Student HMOs and Ground 4A · Renters’ Rights Act rules
Asked about HMO licences in Leicester
£900 for a new application, according to the council's own fee page read 5 September 2026.
gov.uk sets a maximum of 5 years; the council page we read did not state the length.
Mandatory licensing starts at five people from two or more households; whether a smaller HMO needs a licence depends on an additional scheme we could not confirm — check with the council.
On the council's own site: https://www.leicester.gov.uk/housing/landlords/property-licensing/houses-multiple-occupation-hmo
Sources
Read 5 September 2026 on the council’s own site. National rule: House in multiple occupation licence (GOV.UK). Fees change at each council’s budget; the council page is authoritative on the day you apply.