HMO Licence in Hull: Fee, Who Needs One and How to Apply
A new mandatory HMO licence in Hull costs £910, renewal £910, on the council’s own fee page read 5 September 2026.
The fee, from Hull’s own page
| New application | £910 |
| Renewal | £910 |
| Fee structure | per-room |
| Licence length | not stated (gov.uk maximum is 5) |
| Cost per year of licence | — |
| Against the 34 councils with a verified fee | 27 of 34 (1 = dearest); median £1,364 |
'The cost of applying for a new licence or renewing an existing licence are - Standard HMO Licence Fee: The fee charged for a new HMO licence, or the late renewal of an HMO licence that has already expired - 3 bedrooms: £225 + £629.50; 4 bedrooms: £225 + £657.25; 5 bedrooms: £225 + £685; 6 bedrooms: £225 + £712.75; 7 bedrooms: £225 + £740.50; 8 bedrooms: £225 + £768.25; 9 bedrooms: £225 + £796; 10 bedrooms: £225 + £823.75 + £27.75 per additional bedroom above 10.' Same tiered schedule quoted again under 'Standard HMO Licence Renewal Fee'.
Base rooms in this schedule start at 3 bedrooms (£225+£629.50=£854.50); used the 5-bedroom tier (£225+£685=£910) as the fee_new_gbp/fee_renewal_gbp baseline since the task spec calls for the council's baseline room count and the national mandatory threshold is 5+ occupants. Identical fee schedule applies to new and renewal per the page text (both tables show the same numbers).
Hull’s new-licence fee sits below the median of the 34 councils whose fee we could read from their own pages (£1,364). The cheapest verified is Islington at £288 and the dearest Lambeth at £2,530; fee structures differ — some charge per room or in occupancy bands, so a large HMO can cost far more than the headline figure above.
Who needs a licence in Hull
The national rule is the same everywhere in England and Wales — gov.uk: “You must have a licence if you’re renting out a large HMO in England or Wales. Your property is defined as a large HMO if all of the following apply: it is rented to 5 or more people who form more than 1 household; some or all tenants share toilet, bathroom or kitchen facilities; at least 1 tenant pays rent (or their employer pays it for them).” … “A licence is valid for a maximum of 5 years. You must renew your licence before it runs out. You need a separate licence for each HMO you run.” Whether a smaller shared house needs a licence depends on whether the council runs an additional or selective scheme:
Additional licensing (smaller HMOs): not confirmed either way on the pages we read — check the council’s licensing pages before letting to fewer than five.
Selective licensing (all private lets in an area): not confirmed either way on the pages we read — check the council’s licensing pages before letting to fewer than five.
Letting a licensable HMO without a licence is an offence; the penalties, rent repayment orders and the fee’s tax treatment are on the HMO licence in England guide.
The Hull numbers around an HMO
- How many HMOs: the council estimated 4,000 HMOs in Hull, of which 1,000 were mandatory-licensable and 338 licences had been issued (LAHS 2024-25, MHCLG) — every council’s figures.
- Rents: the average 4+-bedroom rent in Hull is £981 a month (ONS, July 2026) against £691 across all sizes — rents, prices and yield in Kingston upon Hull.
- EPC: 38% of EPCs lodged here in the last year were below band C, the level a rented home needs by 1 October 2030 (EPC ratings in Kingston upon Hull).
- Council tax: Band D is £2,295 for 2026/27; in an HMO let room by room the landlord is usually the liable person.
How to apply
Applications go to the council, not to a national body. Have the floor plans, gas and electrical certificates, fire-safety details and the manager’s details ready; most councils take a non-refundable first payment on submission and the balance on grant (the quote above shows where Hull splits its fee, if it does).
All councils compared · Student HMOs and Ground 4A · Renters’ Rights Act rules
Asked about HMO licences in Hull
£910 for a new application and £910 to renew, according to the council's own fee page read 5 September 2026.
gov.uk sets a maximum of 5 years; the council page we read did not state the length.
Mandatory licensing starts at five people from two or more households; whether a smaller HMO needs a licence depends on an additional scheme we could not confirm — check with the council.
On the council's own site: https://www.hull.gov.uk/private-landlords/houses-multiple-occupation/4
Sources
Read 5 September 2026 on the council’s own site. National rule: House in multiple occupation licence (GOV.UK). Fees change at each council’s budget; the council page is authoritative on the day you apply.