CalculatorsRental Income TaxMTD CheckerCapital GainsStamp DutyGuidesAboutContact

HMO Licence in Cambridge: Fee, Who Needs One and How to Apply

A new mandatory HMO licence in Cambridge costs £1,133, renewal £1,000, on the council’s own fee page read 5 September 2026.

England£1,133 new licenceRead 5 September 2026

The fee, from Cambridge’s own page

Mandatory HMO licence fee, Cambridge
New application£1,133
Renewal£1,000
Fee structuretwo-part
Licence lengthnot stated (gov.uk maximum is 5)
Cost per year of licence—
Against the 34 councils with a verified fee23 of 34 (1 = dearest); median £1,364

'The following schedule of fees and discounts applies to all applications due from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027. The HMO mandatory licence fee is £1,133. This is reduced to £1,000 if you apply at least eight weeks before your current licence expires. There are two fees to pay: Fee on application: £736, Fee on grant of licence: £397.' Early/renewal discount: 'by submitting a full and complete application at least eight weeks before your current licence expires, the fee on application is reduced to £603' (plus remaining £397 on grant = £1,000 total).

Explicit fee-year window quoted (1 April 2026 - 31 March 2027). fee_renewal_gbp uses the early-application discounted total (£1,000) since the page frames £1,000 as the renewal-friendly rate; the standard £1,133 also applies to any late/first-time application.

Cambridge’s new-licence fee sits below the median of the 34 councils whose fee we could read from their own pages (£1,364). The cheapest verified is Islington at £288 and the dearest Lambeth at £2,530; fee structures differ — some charge per room or in occupancy bands, so a large HMO can cost far more than the headline figure above.

Who needs a licence in Cambridge

The national rule is the same everywhere in England and Wales — gov.uk: “You must have a licence if you’re renting out a large HMO in England or Wales. Your property is defined as a large HMO if all of the following apply: it is rented to 5 or more people who form more than 1 household; some or all tenants share toilet, bathroom or kitchen facilities; at least 1 tenant pays rent (or their employer pays it for them).” … “A licence is valid for a maximum of 5 years. You must renew your licence before it runs out. You need a separate licence for each HMO you run.” Whether a smaller shared house needs a licence depends on whether the council runs an additional or selective scheme:

Additional licensing (smaller HMOs): not confirmed either way on the pages we read — check the council’s licensing pages before letting to fewer than five.

Selective licensing (all private lets in an area): not confirmed either way on the pages we read — check the council’s licensing pages before letting to fewer than five.

Letting a licensable HMO without a licence is an offence; the penalties, rent repayment orders and the fee’s tax treatment are on the HMO licence in England guide.

The Cambridge numbers around an HMO

  • How many HMOs: the council estimated 3,787 HMOs in Cambridge, of which 1,450 were mandatory-licensable and 851 licences had been issued (LAHS 2024-25, MHCLG) — every council’s figures.
  • Rents: the average 4+-bedroom rent in Cambridge is £2,659 a month (ONS, July 2026) against £1,806 across all sizes — rents, prices and yield in Cambridge.
  • EPC: 34% of EPCs lodged here in the last year were below band C, the level a rented home needs by 1 October 2030 (EPC ratings in Cambridge).
  • Council tax: Band D is £2,467 for 2026/27; in an HMO let room by room the landlord is usually the liable person (council tax in Cambridge).

How to apply

Applications go to the council, not to a national body. Have the floor plans, gas and electrical certificates, fire-safety details and the manager’s details ready; most councils take a non-refundable first payment on submission and the balance on grant (the quote above shows where Cambridge splits its fee, if it does).

Apply or check on Cambridge’s site

All councils compared · Student HMOs and Ground 4A · Renters’ Rights Act rules

Landlord tax changes, as they happen

A short email when a rate, threshold or deadline that affects landlords changes — sourced, dated, no marketing.

FAQs

Asked about HMO licences in Cambridge

£1,133 for a new application and £1,000 to renew, according to the council's own fee page read 5 September 2026.

gov.uk sets a maximum of 5 years; the council page we read did not state the length.

Mandatory licensing starts at five people from two or more households; whether a smaller HMO needs a licence depends on an additional scheme we could not confirm — check with the council.

On the council's own site: https://www.cambridge.gov.uk/licensing-of-houses-in-multiple-occupation

Sources

Read 5 September 2026 on the council’s own site. National rule: House in multiple occupation licence (GOV.UK). Fees change at each council’s budget; the council page is authoritative on the day you apply.