CalculatorsRental Income TaxMTD CheckerCapital GainsStamp DutyGuidesAboutContact

HMO Licence in Birmingham: Fee, Who Needs One and How to Apply

What Birmingham’s own pages say about HMO licensing, read 5 September 2026.

EnglandCouncil-sourcedRead 5 September 2026

The fee, from Birmingham’s own page

The council’s page describes a mandatory-licence fee structure but the amount was not readable on the page or PDF we could open, so no figure is shown here. Use the council link below for the current schedule.

Who needs a licence in Birmingham

The national rule is the same everywhere in England and Wales — gov.uk: “You must have a licence if you’re renting out a large HMO in England or Wales. Your property is defined as a large HMO if all of the following apply: it is rented to 5 or more people who form more than 1 household; some or all tenants share toilet, bathroom or kitchen facilities; at least 1 tenant pays rent (or their employer pays it for them).” … “A licence is valid for a maximum of 5 years. You must renew your licence before it runs out. You need a separate licence for each HMO you run.” Whether a smaller shared house needs a licence depends on whether the council runs an additional or selective scheme:

Additional licensing (smaller HMOs): yes. Selected wards under Section 257 property licensing scheme (see additional_licensing_for_hmos page). Council confirms an additional licensing / Section 257 scheme exists but fee page not accessible in this pass. Check the scheme map before letting to three or four sharers.

Selective licensing (all private lets in an area): not confirmed either way on the pages we read — check the council’s licensing pages before letting to fewer than five.

Letting a licensable HMO without a licence is an offence; the penalties, rent repayment orders and the fee’s tax treatment are on the HMO licence in England guide.

The Birmingham numbers around an HMO

  • How many HMOs: the council estimated 11,933 HMOs in Birmingham, of which 4,000 were mandatory-licensable and 2,437 licences had been issued (LAHS 2024-25, MHCLG) — every council’s figures.
  • Rents: the average 4+-bedroom rent in Birmingham is £1,569 a month (ONS, July 2026) against £1,093 across all sizes — rents, prices and yield in Birmingham.
  • EPC: 44% of EPCs lodged here in the last year were below band C, the level a rented home needs by 1 October 2030 (EPC ratings in Birmingham).
  • Council tax: Band D is £2,363 for 2026/27; in an HMO let room by room the landlord is usually the liable person (council tax in Birmingham).

How to apply

Applications go to the council, not to a national body. Have the floor plans, gas and electrical certificates, fire-safety details and the manager’s details ready; most councils take a non-refundable first payment on submission and the balance on grant (the quote above shows where Birmingham splits its fee, if it does).

Apply or check on Birmingham’s site

All councils compared · Student HMOs and Ground 4A · Renters’ Rights Act rules

Landlord tax changes, as they happen

A short email when a rate, threshold or deadline that affects landlords changes — sourced, dated, no marketing.

FAQs

Asked about HMO licences in Birmingham

The council's page did not state a single headline figure we could verify; use the council link on this page.

gov.uk sets a maximum of 5 years; the council page we read did not state the length.

Possibly — the council runs additional licensing (Selected wards under Section 257 property licensing scheme (see additional_licensing_for_hmos page)).

On the council's own site: https://www.birmingham.gov.uk/info/50248/houses_in_multiple_occupation/2177/apply_for_an_hmo_licence

Sources

Read 5 September 2026 on the council’s own site. National rule: House in multiple occupation licence (GOV.UK). Fees change at each council’s budget; the council page is authoritative on the day you apply.